Rule 1. Peanut Butter and Oreos

I’ve written and rewritten this introduction several times. I don’t know how to tell you that this post is a list of rules I have created over this past year. This past year I lived in Canada’s Arctic, I moved back to Atlantic Canada, I have travelled and met new people and tried new things. So in honour of that, I made a list. This list has been tweaked and edited and scratched out more times than I even want to tell you, but it’s served me well.

Over the past months I have kept some of these rules in my sock drawer, (out of sight, out of mind-type thing) but I have them, nonetheless. They always seem to make their way to my heart when I need them the most. I have come to live and die by the things on this list, some more than others, so I hope in some way, by some sense you can somehow pick up one of these, every so bravely, and say

“You see this one here? This one’s mine. I don’t know how long I’ll need it, but when I do need it, it’ll be here for me.”

 

So here is a list of 10:

  1. Eat Oreos with peanut butter or don’t eat them at all.
  2. Taylor Swift’s song fifteen is beyond accurate.
    When she says “But in your life you’ll do things greater than dating the boy on the football team” she means it.
    He will break your heart.
    This is especially true if you’re trying to convince yourself, for some reason, that it’s all going to be okay, even when you know he’s actually not good for you. It’s probably not going to work out the way you hope. Those doubts about him are your intuition and you should trust it, no matter how difficult.
    I promise you that if he’s not a hell yes, he’s a hell no. Take it from me, I learned this the hard way. Twice.
  3. Just because you can’t deal (well) with change, doesn’t mean that you should try to hold onto everything.
  4. Keep an open mind about new music, new food and new people – they aren’t always as bad as they seem and they aren’t always as good as they may seem.
  5. When writing papers, never use the words ‘thing’. It’s unclear and if your teacher is anything like mine, she will fail you on your midterm, as well as your final, if you do.
  6. Always love people hardest on the days when you feel most unloved.
    I really wrestled with this one for a long time because it sounds like a form of self-harm almost. It’s so easy to burn-out. To run out of love because you have nothing left to give because you’re never getting any love.
    But Jesus showed me that we can do all things through him. He is more than enough for us, and when you love people hardest on the days you feel most unloved, you’ll start to realize that you have to embrace the love of Jesus. Which in turn, will allow you to feel loved, as well as embrace love. It’s a cycle. And it’s not easy to grasp, and it’s a lot of work, but it was good for me and my heart and I believe it honoured Jesus.
  7. People will always be moving in and out of your life. It doesn’t always mean that you ‘didn’t need them anyway’. Sometimes, Jesus sends us people into our life for a season, and that’s all it’s supposed to be.
  8. Volunteer at soup kitchens. You’ll build relationships with genuine people and you’ll learn a lot about yourself, too.
  9. Be brave, be kind, work hard, and in humility, love more than less.
    Bravery looks like evangelism sometimes. Kindness looks like love that puts others before yourself sometimes.  Hard work looks like early mornings sometimes. Humbly loving more than less means starting conversations and doing things you don’t want to do sometimes.
  10. Somethings are just meant to be. Somethings aren’t just meant to be. This is really sad and it can hurt a lot and it’s not fair, usually. But, I promise, accepting this is a whole lot easier.
Leave a Reply

