Break our hearts for what breaks Yours.

*This is a prayer I wrote in the midst of my tears and my hurt. I was reminded by a friend that Paul prayed similar things. Paul was this cool Bible guy who wrote love letters to encourage people while he was in prison. He prayed for the church almost unlike anyone else. He weeped and mourned over them. I want to encourage you in that regardless of what your going through, or how good things may be right now, God can use you. God’s heart is breaking because people whom He loves are hurting due to sin, but He is also calling us to be used to bring His heart and His miracles and His glory and His honour into the cracks of brokenness. 

**The cover picture was taken by one of my best friends while she was living in Peru last year. I think that these Peruvian kids, along with the majority of the population of the earth all need to know that there is a God who loves them. That’s what this post is all about.


Father
, beak our hearts for what breaks yours. Tonight my heart is breaking. In the quietness of the evening, alone with my thoughts and what I pray to be your words, my heart is breaking because I forgot. I forgot that people in this world are being treated as less than humans. I don’t want to forget that just because I have four walls and a roof over my head to keep me warm in the dead of winter, that there aren’t people in my neighbourhood, and in my province, and in my neighbouring provinces and territories, there are too many people who are suffering and struggling and hurting. God, let me not forget, ever again, that there are people who are hurting. 

Father, let me not forget that you love them. And let me not forget even though I cannot do anything in my own strength, I need to do everything you will enable my hands to do. 

Holy Spirit, break our hearts for what breaks yours. Give me a piece of your heart, that I may love fiercely, and fearlessly, and with reckless abandon, whatever that is gonna look like. Because it is there when you will break our hearts for what’s already breaking yours. Speak to me and let me be your voice. Allow me to see, and to be your eyes. Give me wisdom to know how to act and serve. Give me your hands and teach me how to use them. Give me your feet and spotlight a road never yet travelled. Give me the bravery and the fearlessness to reflect Christ’s attitude towards the church on this journey. Give me bread, enough for the hungry people I meet along the way, as well as enough to give me the energy to make it to the end. Give me a heart for the broken and the hurting. Give me a mind that is sharp enough to get through the weariness.  
Please, God, tell me that not every single life is precious and that every single human is longing to be loved by you. Let my heart, my soul, my mind, my strength, my hands, my feet, my relationships, my suffering, my brokenness, my joy and my thankfulness all be used and honoured and glorified in you, God. Let me not forget that you are the God of miracles. And that you can turn this world and shake it and use it all for you. Please God, let me not forget that other people are hurting, and are hurting often. And let me not forget even though I cannot do anything in my own strength, I need to do everything you will enable my hands to do. 

King Jesus, break our hearts for what breaks yours. Thank you for saving us. Thank you for making a way out of this brokenness. Thank you for giving your life for us, even though we are the least of these. Thank you for your grace that is wider and deeper and stronger than the ocean. Thank you for your words, and for your heart, and for your desire to love. Thank you for showing us what it means to sacrifice and give and serve and go and stay and work and rest. Thank you for the truth you spoke. Thank you for your infinite perfection. And thank you for loving the orphans and the hurting and those who have nothing, Jesus. Thank you for forgiving me when I forget them. And God, please keep them safe. Give them every single need they have to have. Thank you, Jesus, thank you. And let me not forget even though I cannot do anything in my own strength, I need to do everything you will enable my hands to do.

Emmanuel God, break our hearts for what breaks yours. I ask that with everything you are, and in all your infinite power and wisdom and might and fight and power and glory and beauty that you bring those who need me to me. And bring me to them. Send me. Let us bless each other with the gifts and resources that we have, and let it all be because you are God almighty who loves everyone. Break our hearts for what breaks yours, God. Let my heart be longing for the salvation of the hurting because that is what your heart is. Thank you for loving us, God. In all our mistakes and in all our failures and in all our weaknesses, Lord. Thank you for your mercy. And let me not forget even though I cannot do anything in my own strength, I need to do everything you will enable my hands to do

Leave a Reply

